Different Kinds of Happy

Tech & Relationships

I sit outside in the courtyard during my lunch break today. Across the way there is a young couple, probably about my age. For the past thirty minutes, they have been talking, sitting closely, kissing, laughing, and using other affectionate nonverbals. I have mostly been keeping my head down reading, but whenever I catch a glance of them, they’re always making eye contact or are deeply engaged in conversation. In the moment.

Maybe they’re love birds who have been dating two weeks. Maybe they’ve known each other five years and are still madly in love. But regardless, I can’t help but notice the lack of phones. The lack of distraction. I must admit- I’ve heard bits of their conversation. And while their words are indistinct, I can tell it’s another language.

I tend to see more American couples absorbed in their tech when they’re together which is understandable at times. We’re not going to be engaged in conversation 100% of the time with our significant other. But seeing this picture of presence and true togetherness was a beautiful, rare sight in today’s media saturated culture.

It challenged me to be more present with my husband when we’re out together. To peel my eyes off Instagram when he’s talking to me or even when he’s not. Because sometimes, ironically, putting down our devices is the best way to stay connected.

This entry was published on June 14, 2018 at 2:44 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment