Different Kinds of Happy

What Weeping Willow Said

Jennifer Trafton’s novel, The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic, is a masterpiece. Case in point: this poem which is humbly tucked away near the end.

“I climbed a hill as high as hope;
I swam a sea as deep as dread;
I bound my fear up with a rope
To hear what weeping Williow said.

I heard her whisper through  her sighs:
‘The world has lost all dreams but one.
Though night’s dark tears may cloud your eyes,
Look —  joy is rising with the sun.

‘For fear cannot be bound with rope,
And many swimmers drown with dread;
But no one falls who climbs with hope.’
That’s what Weeping Willow said.

And so I laid my sorrows  by
And sang my beating heart to sleep.
And that, my sighing friend, is why
I’m dancing while the willows weep.

This entry was published on October 5, 2014 at 3:53 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

