Different Kinds of Happy

Writer’s Block

I want to write a poem, 
One that inspires, but isn’t
Wrought with weak metaphors,
That delights with dashes of humor
Nestled between deep questions 
To ease furrowed brows
And let readers know
I don’t take the poem
(Or life)
Too seriously.
Oh, what I would give to capture 
The essence of the human experience
In eighteen lines of free verse,
Typed on my phone’s keyboard 
At an hour when I should be asleep
But can only imagine such 
Perfect,
Elusive
Art:
Pure poetry that doesn’t lie flat 
To be immediately forgotten
By a passerby on his way to 
A more brilliant article,
More beautiful song. 
Oh, what I would write
If I only knew what to write…

This entry was published on January 13, 2014 at 1:13 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

