Different Kinds of Happy

I’m feeling twenty-two.

To commemorate twenty-two years of living, I thought it would be appropriate to make a list of twenty-two things I’ve discovered, enjoyed, and-or learned this year because I love lists and it’s fun to reflect on light as well as more significant things that have helped shape who I am after this many years.

  1. Lost.  I’ve never seen a TV show that explores the depths of the human experience with such poignancy, and it’s pretty fun to see a second time through with my sister who’s watching it for her first time. But it’s also a lesson in self-control–I’ve almost given spoilers too many times.
  2. Flipping food like fried eggs or pancakes one-handed. If I don’t ever go to culinary school, it’s the next best thing for this wannabe chef.
  3.  Andrew Peterson’s newest album, Light for the Lost Boy. I unashamedly sobbed at the concert, and am still blown away every time I listen to it.
  4. 10Ks. The sweet spot between a 5K and half marathon.
  5. Child sponsorship. I never thought I would do this whenever I heard promotions at concerts or chapel services, but it’s already been a rewarding experience to know that I can have a positive influence in the life of a child hundreds of miles away. Check out Compassion International’s site to learn more.
  6. Baseball games
  7. Strumming on my new gee-tar, Andy.
  8. Peanut butter.
  9. Blogging.  Initially, the idea of exposing my writing for anyone in the blogosphere to read was very intimidating, but I think I’m starting to get over it.
  10. Roller-coasters!
  11.  Kate DiCamillo. I wish I had discovered her books when I was a kid, but I think they are still just as wonderful to read now. My favorite is The Tiger Rising.
  12. Napping is one of the most underrated forms of refreshment and renewal.
  13. I still think it was a one-time miracle, but I am capable of running 13.1 miles at once. I’m hoping to do the Epcot wine and dine half maybe next year.
  14. Poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese [according to G.K. Chesterton, that is].
  15. Learning doesn’t have to be reserved only for school. I never want to lose my appetite for discovering and exploring more than I already know.
  16. Hazelnut coffee is magical.
  17. I can be pretty productive during an almost all-nighter if there’s a great enough sense of urgency.
  18. Sometimes, I need to consciously slow down.
  19. I don’t deserve my friends or my family. Each one of them is an incredible gift.
  20. Disney has its faults, but was also an integral part of my childhood. Case in point: if teachers across America used this guide, literary techniques would have made perfect sense to everyone in my generation at a young age:   http://www.buzzfeed.com/moerder/fancy-literary-techniques-explained-by-disney
  21. If the circumstances are right (which fortunately isn’t too often), I can cry at the drop of a hat. It still scares me a little.
  22. Purchasing a car with your sister makes the whole experience twice as good. 🙂

So thanks Lord, friends, and family for making this year wonderful through the valleys and peaks. Here’s to another good one, whatever it has in store!

This entry was published on August 7, 2013 at 3:28 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

