Different Kinds of Happy

Domingo

I recently began to sponsor a child through Compassion International. Meet Domingo, a precious almost four year-old living in Guatemala.
Image
I just wrote my first letter to him this morning (which will be translated before it gets to him). I can’t believe how difficult it was to find the words to say! I ended up telling him some of my hobbies and asked him a few questions about himself. How do you relate to someone, a  child nonetheless, who lives in such a different world, a remote village in the mountains of Central America? What do you say to a little boy whose dreams are far less attainable than mine, who can’t relate to the daily material blessings like plentiful food, running water, and ample leisure time that I take for granted? Maybe I’ll get better at letter writing after a few months. In the mean time, I feel totally inadequate yet deeply blessed for this new friendship.

This entry was published on June 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

