Different Kinds of Happy

Gratitude

In “Hannah Coulter” (which is still on my to-read list), Wendell Berry offers a pearl of wisdom about gratitude: “You mustn’t wish for another life. You mustn’t want to be somebody else. What you must do is this: ‘Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In everything give thanks.’ I am not all the way capable of so much, but those are the right instructions.”  Whenever I start to feel unsettled about life or doubt myself as a writer or a friend, I must keep returning to these simple truths. Gratitude and contentment, I’ve learned, are inextricably linked.You cannot have one without the other.

This entry was published on May 20, 2013 at 7:26 pm and is filed under Faith. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. One of the things I mentioned in my reference for you was your grateful spirit. You are always an encouragement and a blessing.

  2. Thank you, Dr. Impson! You have been the same and more to me.

Leave a Reply

